Home / SUPERHEROES / INDIE SUPERHEROES /
CLICK THE "BREADCRUMBS" TRAIL above to find more great reads in these related categories

ASTRO CITY

Welcome to Astro City, a shining city on a hill where super heroes patrol the skies. Each chapter in this collection is a stand-alone story highlighting different aspects or characters in the Astro City world. The city's leading super hero tries to be everywhere at once, and berates himself for every wasted second as he longs for just a moment of his own. A small-time hood learns a hero's secret identity and tries to figure out how to profit from the knowledge. A beat reporter gets some advice from his editor on his first day on the job. A young woman tries to balance the demands of her family with her own hopes and desires. Despite the fantastic settings, the characters in these slice-of-life stories feel like real people, and that gives the stories real power.

 

FOR FANS OF MARVELS AND INVINCIBLE

THE BOYS

In a world where costumed heroes soar through the sky and masked vigilantes prowl the night, someone's got to make sure the "supes" don't get out of line. Billy Butcher, Wee Hughie, Mother's Milk, The Frenchman, and The Female are The Boys, a CIA-backed team of very dangerous people, each one dedicated to the struggle against the most dangerous force on Earth - superpower!

 

FOR FANS OF PREACHER, PUNISHER MAX, AND KICK ASS

EX MACHINA

Award-winning writer Brian K. Vaughan (PRIDE OF BAGHDAD, Y: THE LAST MAN) uniquely combines big city politics and superheroes in this much-lauded series. Set in our modern-day world, EX MACHINA tells the story of civil engineer Mitchell Hundred, who becomes America's first living, breathing super-hero after a strange accident gives him the power to communicate with machines. Eventually Mitchell tires of risking his life merely to maintain the status quo, retires from masked crime fighting and runs for mayor of New York City, winning by a landslide.

 

FOR FANS OF Y THE LAST MAN, POWERS, AND DMZ

INCOGNITO

Zach is a flie clerk in a dead end job... or is he really a super-villain hiding in Witness Protection? As his powers begin to return, our anti-hero's life begins to unravel in a dark and explosive fashion. From the award-winning team of Sleeper, Criminal, and Fatale.

 

For fans of Sleeper, Criminal, Powers, Masks and Mobsters, and Supercrooks

INVINCIBLE

Mark Grayson is just like most everyone else his age. The only major difference being that his dad is the most powerful superhero on the planet! And, Mark seems to be inheriting his father's powers! See Mark thwart super-villains, alien invasions and all sorts of craziness, as he gets the hang of all this superheroing stuff.

 

FOR FANS OF ULTIMATE SPIDER-MAN, KICK ASS, FIREBREATHER, AND WALKING DEAD

MIRACLEMAN

Kimota!

PLANETARY

Planetary has been hailed as a timeless story that turned modern superhero conventions on their heads.Written by Warren Ellis and with stunning art by John Cassaday, this critically acclaimed, landmark series took a look at the inter-dimensional peace-keeping force known as Planetary.  Tasked with tracking down evidence of super-human activity, these mystery archaeologists uncover unknown paranormal secrets and histories, such as a World War II supercomputer that can access other universes, a ghostly spirit of vengeance, and a lost island of dying monsters.

For fans of The Authority, Transmetropolitan, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, and      Astonishing X-Men

POWERS

Heroes glide through the sky on lightning bolts and fire. Flamboyant villains attempt daring daylight robberies. Godlike alien creatures clash in epic battle over the nighttime sky. And on the dirty city streets below, homicide detectives Christian Walker and Deena Pilgrim do their jobs.

 

FOR FANS OF TOP 10, ALIAS, SLEEPER, CRIMINAL, AND THIEF OF THIEVES

SLEEPER

SLEEPER tells the story of agent Holden Carver, a reluctant double agent without hope of rescue. Tao, the criminal mastermind whose organization Carver has infiltrated, had Carver's only lifeline, spymaster John Lynch, shot, leaving him in a coma. Tao's cut off every means of escape, and he's persuaded Carver to join him...for real this time.

For fans of Incognito, Criminal, and Powers

SPAWN

Spawn is a hero unlike any other.  A government agent, Al Simmons was killed by his own men.  Resurrected from the depths of hell, he returns to Earth as the warrior Spawn, guarding the forgotten alleys of New York City.  As he seeks answers about his past, Spawn grapples with the dark forces that returned him to Earth, battling enemies and discovering unlikely allies.  As he learns to harness his extraordinary new powers, he begins to grasp the full extent of what brought him back - and what he left behind.

 

FOR FANS OF DARKNESS, WITCHBLADE, AND NEW 52 BATMAN

VALIANT UNIVERSE

Valiant Entertainment is a character-based publishing and licensing company that owns and controls some of the most cherished comic characters ever created across all media worldwide. Since their creation in 1989, Valiant characters have sold 80 million comic books and have been the basis of a number of successful video game franchises. Valiant’s extensive library includes over 1,500 characters, such as X-O Manowar, Bloodshot, Harbinger, Shadowman, and Ninjak.

 

FOR FANS OF ULTIMATES, RISING STARS, AND IRREDEEMABLE

WATCHMEN

This Hugo Award-winning graphic novel chronicles the fall from grace of a group of super-heroes plagued by all-too-human failings. Along the way, the concept of the super-hero is dissected as the heroes are stalked by an unknown assassin.  One of the most influential graphic novels of all time and a perennial bestseller, WATCHMEN has been studied on college campuses across the nation and is considered a gateway title, leading readers to other graphic novels such as V FOR VENDETTA, BATMAN: THE DARK KNIGHT RETURNS and THE SANDMAN series. 

For fans of V for Vendetta, Irredeemable, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, and The Dark Knight Returns

more SUPER POWERS

Already made your way through the classics, or looking for something specific?  Check out the rest of our indie superhero books!

Bargain Bin

Featured New Releases

Hot Pre-Orders

Newsletter
Get weekly updates on new arrivals, reviews and recommended reads, links to cool places we find on the net and much more by signing up for our newsletter!

Follow Cheap Graphic Novels on Twitter!
 
Copyright © 2009-2017 CheapGraphicNovels.com Terms & Conditions | Privacy statement | Powered by Lumino Internet