Home / CRIME /
CLICK THE "BREADCRUMBS" TRAIL above to find more great reads in these related categories

(author) BRIAN MICHAEL BENDIS

Best known for his work on The Avengers and other characters for Marvel, Brian Michael Bendis has always had one foot firmly planted in comic book noir, especially when it comes to his early work. 

 

For fans of Powers, Sam and Twitch, and Daredevil

100 BULLETS

In this dark and intriguing series, the mysterious Agent Graves approaches ordinary citizens and gives them an opportunity to exact revenge on a person that has wronged them. Offering his clients an attache case containing proof of the deed and a gun, he guarantees his "clients" full immunity for all of their actions, including murder...

 

For fans of Scalped, Criminal, and Spaceman

 

BLACKSAD

Private investigator John Blacksad is up to his feline ears in mystery, digging into the backstories behind murders, child abductions, and nuclear secrets. Guarnido's sumptuously painted pages and rich cinematic style bring the world of 1950s America to vibrant life, with Canales weaving in fascinating tales of conspiracy, racial tension, and the "red scare" Communist witch hunts of the time. Guarnido reinvents anthropomorphism in these pages, and industry colleagues no less than Will Eisner, Jim Steranko, and Tim Sale are fans!

 

For fans of Parker, Torpedo, and Sin City

CRIMINAL

In the tradition of 60s and 70s noir, Criminal is the ultimate homage to the hardboiled crime genre, filled with desperate men, heists-gone-wong, femme fatales, and unhappy endings.

 

For fans of Fatale, Incognito, Scalped, and 100 Bullets

FROM HELL

From Hell is the story of Jack the Ripper, perhaps the most infamous man in the annals of murder. Detailing the events leading up to the Whitechapel killings and the cover-up that followed, From Hell is a meditation on the mind of a madman whose savagery and violence gave birth to the 20th century.

For fans of Watchmen, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, and Swamp Thing

HAPPY

Meet NICK SAX - a corrupt, intoxicated ex-cop turned hit-man, adrift in a stinking twilight world of casual murder, soulless sex, eczema and betrayal. With a hit gone wrong, a bullet in his side, the cops and the mob on his tail, and a monstrous child killer in a Santa suit on the loose, Nick and his world will be changed forever this Christmas.  By a tiny blue horse called Happy...

For fans of Back to Brooklyn, The Boys, and Preacher

PARKER (RICHARD STARK)

Though Richard Stark wrote the first Parker novel in 1962, creating one of the most quintessential tough guys of the 20th century, a character almost as hard and merciless as his antogonists,  Parker feels like he was made to be drawn by Darwyn Cooke.  The Parker graphic novels are not only some of the best crime comics to date, they are also some of the all time best comic book adaptations of prose.

 

For fans of Blacksad, Criminal, and Torpedo

SCALPED

Jason Aaron teams with gritty artist R.M. Guéra for an intense crime drama that mixes organized crime with current Native American culture.

 

For fans of 100 Bullets, Criminal, and Punisher MAX.

SIN CITY

Welcome to Sin City, where life is cheap, the game is rigged, and small victories are hard won.  Sin City is the style side of the crime genre coin, where the series creator, Frank Miller utilizes his trademark noir style in its rawest, purest form.  If you like it hardboiled enough to chip your tooth, this is the series to bite into.

 

For fans of The Dark Knight Returns, 100 Bullets, and Torpedo.

THE SPIRIT

Eisner's blue-suit-clad, fedora-wearing crimefighter starred in hundreds of newspaper adventure stories that thrilled readers with Eisner's groundbreaking style. Eisner was a master of utilizing the comics format to its greatest strengths, and his Spirit stories are some of his finest examples!

 

For fans of Rocketeer, Sin City, and Batman: Year One

STUMPTOWN

Dex is the proprietor of Stumptown Investigations, and a fairly talented P.I. Unfortunately, she's less adept at throwing dice than solving cases. Her recent streak has left her beyond broke and she's into the Confederated Tribes of the Wind Coast for 18 large. But maybe Dex's luck is about to change.

For fans of Whiteout, Criminal, and Queen and Country

THIEF OF THIEVES

Conrad Paulson lives a secret double life as master thief Redmond. There is nothing he can't steal, nothing he can't have... except for the life he left behind.  Now with a grown son he hardly knows, and an ex-wife he never stopped loving, Conrad must try to piece together what's left of his life, before the FBI finally catch up to him... but it appears they are the least of his worries.

For fans of Morning Glories, Powers, and Jinx

more CRIME

Already made your way through the classics, or looking for soemthing specific?  Check out the rest of our crime books.

Bargain Bin

Featured New Releases

Hot Pre-Orders

Newsletter
Get weekly updates on new arrivals, reviews and recommended reads, links to cool places we find on the net and much more by signing up for our newsletter!

Follow Cheap Graphic Novels on Twitter!
 
Copyright © 2009-2017 CheapGraphicNovels.com Terms & Conditions | Privacy statement | Powered by Lumino Internet